Gap Year

 

 

 

 

Everything reminds me

of you

tanned skin, black hair

When I see a bus boarding

I want to fly to you

Run behind you

til I catch up.

 

I miss warm chai

dark streets

bright lights

shouts, yells

chants, incense

 

we were perfect, weren’t we?

With so many problems

tangling my heart into your earth

 

Till my lips met your feet

and my eyes blazed with the understanding

of my wings

my freedom

my love

INDIA

 

My eyes flicker now, dead without you

and people who know nothing

speak of you with sandpaper lips

 

I will fight for what you taught me

and one day

see you again

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Gap Year

Leave a Reply

