I’m going to get sappy for a minute here

Today I realized that I don’t know where one of my nose-pins is.

 

This may not seem like that big of a deal, except that it’s the moon-shaped one that my two youngest sisters saved up for and bought me for Christmas last year. They wrapped it up really nicely and gave it to me Christmas Eve, they were so excited.  And this evening I realized that I don’t know where it is.

 

This scared me so much I suddenly started to cry, standing there in the middle of a group of people. Not because of the actual nose-pin, even though it is a very nice one. Not even because of the sentimental attachment, even though I love my sisters very much and their sweet gesture touched my soul in a wonderful way.

 

It was just a tiny crack in the huge dam of everything else I left behind, so with the loss of one small sentimental piece of jewelery I felt the weight of an entire continent.

Leave a Reply

