Some things that make us different.

Sometimes, it’s good to think about all the things that set us apart. Like the fact that I am used to being a racial minority

I grew up backpacking, it is not something special to me

my heart groans when I see darkness that i understand

I am scared of guns and gunshots

because I used to lie on the floor while they shattered the night

I have had malaria so many times I can’t remember

I am used to wearing the same thing for days

I am not afraid of dirt

I am fine with going without water and electricity and phone service and internet

I love it when things go wrong

And I am trying to understand you.

4 thoughts on “Some things that make us different.

Leave a Reply

