Blindness/Modern Art

Last night, as some friends and I sat at dinner, the conversation turned to the various paintings that hung on the walls nearby. I was surprised by the deep degree of loathing that was expressed towards these works of art, primarily from individuals that had little to no knowledge or interest in any kind of painting. Finally, one of them leaned back and said, “I just HATE modern art.”

What.

I stared at him in shock. My disbelief mistaken for offense, he apologized and tried to explain.

This is like a colorblind person saying they hate the color red. They don’t see it or understand it and aren’t trying to do so. They can’t see the various shades – magenta is red, ochre is red. There may be something within that huge category that they do not find appealing, but that doesn’t encompass all within it.

The whole purpose of modern art is throwing aside all traditions and presuppositions for the sake of experimentation. And some of those experiments are amazing. It’s taking control over the elements of art and creating absolutely whatever the artist has in mind. It is total and complete freedom of expression.

This is modern art:

3871299424_32f006b910

This is modern art:

https://i2.wp.com/www.chictip.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/STORM____LEONID_AFREMOV_by_Leonidafremov.jpg

This is modern art:

https://i2.wp.com/www.kaemmerart.com/fap_broadband_2005/images/05_dc_duchamp.jpg

This is modern art:

https://i2.wp.com/www.paintinghere.com/UploadPic/Salvador%20Dali/big/Ascension.jpg

This is modern art:

https://i0.wp.com/www.students.sbc.edu/kitchin04/artandexpression/Pollock1948%5B1%5D.jpg

This is modern art:

File:Paul Cรฉzanne, Pyramid of Skulls, c. 1901.jpg

I’m not saying it’s all amazing. I’m not saying it’s all perfect. But it is BEAUTY, and the idea behind the works is freedom.

So please don’t write off modern art.

4 thoughts on “Blindness/Modern Art

  1. I agree with all you have said, and you have some really striking examples of art here! I suppose when it comes to needing to explain what type of art you are talking about there is a need to give it a type or style, but I see art as all the same, and what I like or love is not decided upon on what it’s style is or how or who painted it, but is only about being attracted to it or not. I’ve heard people talk about music in the same way, everything they don’t like is crap, when what they could have said was “it doesn’t do anything for me.” People are very self centred sometimes and whirl around in their own tiny restricted world!! It’s good that we are not all the same, what a boring world that would be!
    Suzy ๐Ÿ˜€

    • I agree! It really just made me sad that someone had so little understanding of something I love so very very much. I am sure that there are some styles of work that I don’t connect with as well, but I would never say that I hate them unless I hate the message they are expressing. It really isn’t all about the viewer – there is always so much in what the artist expressed originally!!

      Many do this with everything though – writing off people groups, music genres, movie types, because their knowledge of them is limited. It’s a sad fact of the world we live in, and it’s no reason to really get angry at them. ๐Ÿ™‚ So let’s seek out some differences and learn to love them! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

