break my heart for what breaks Yours.

there, in the dim light, singing,

carrying hearts in our mouths, bared of all,

no longer looking at each other but

instead inwards,

seeking, searching, for a sacrifice worth offering.

finally turning in, I

jumped inside

plummeting like a stone to the bottom

of my guilt

covered in shame.

There, I

struggled, gasping

to accept this darkness that was me, filling me

so hard to accept that anything is over when I refuse to let go.

(It’s one thing to say you forgive

it’s another to say you forgive yourself)

There, clarity pooled

dragged out of my shadow

as guilt drained away, trickling, weakening

relaxed, let go

a toddling baby reaching for safety,

drowning in self, tossed by waves of pride,

You

called me.

5 thoughts on “break my heart for what breaks Yours.

  1. Pingback: Winterized – A Golden Saturday Poetry Post « Lyrical Anarchy

  2. Pingback: A Saturday Poetry Parade | Lyrical Anarchy

  3. Pingback: Poets Sing The Winter Blues | Lyrical Anarchy

Leave a Reply

