Come What May(song of the week)

Moulin Rouge confuses me. The film in and of itself is a work of art, the music perfect, and the plot line clever. It’s the kind of film that becomes a classic of cult classics, an epic anthem for a romance-craving generation.

However, something about it just didn’t sit right with me. Aside from not particularly condoning the lifestyles of the characters therein, there was something lacking about the love story. It was empty, hollow, broken – a far more true depiction of romance than the glossy, Hollywood chick flicks – but in an indie, perfect way, which was entirely too romantic for my tastes (which is not saying much.) And its overwhelming dramatic (somewhat overly so, to the point of utter cheesiness and lies) portrayal of a brothel was a little crazy.

This doesn’t change the fact that I adore the sound track, and love finding other fans of the film who will belt out the duets with me. (naturally, I sing Ewan McGregor’s part, regardless of my partner’s gender. Do what I want.) Moulin Rouge is certainly not one for the kids, but that doesn’t mean I won’t be singing mine to sleep with the song Come What May.

Leave a Reply

