self-destruct

please stop me

without thinking, i

speak, thoughts bubble, spill

poured from my tongue

unheeded, unfiltered, burning

my limbs swirl, unchecked,

not paying attention, lost in some savannah somewhere

warm, curled up in this shadowy memory,

my mental effigy of love

kicking me in the heart steadily

i lose attention with

currency, i am more curious to see

what is on the other side of inhibition than anything else –

how far can i get when i am not listening

to my own heartbeat?

One thought on “self-destruct

  1. Pingback: #Poetry “self-destruct” by abitjuakali – some serious jua kali « johndwmacdonald

Leave a Reply

