communication

I miss being the self that I understood.

Here, muted in color and thought, I am often lost

in my own words, confused. Before

here, I could say things in any language

and rarely be misunderstood

because directness is imperative

when one is only present for a moment at a time.

This frustration of tongue, that

what I mean and what I say can possibly be two different things – i

feel myself slipping,

sinking backwards behind a reality of protocol and what is cool,

swimming in masques of politeness and belonging.

2 thoughts on “communication

  1. This is so beautiful and captures so well what I’m sure is the experience of everyone who has moved internationally – and even more so when that involved learning anotehr language! Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

