Snow Patrol (song of the week)

 

(Since, for the next few weeks I will be traveling around with unreliable internet, I have queued several posts so that this blog will not remain empty. I tried to put a little more thought into these than usual.)

 

This song has been one of my favourites for a long time. Something about the combination of the chords and lyrics just speaks into my life in a wonderful way. The video is lovely as well – the dance routine combines theatrical drama with classic step and a variety of dance styles to mirror the artist’s questions regarding reality and the purpose of life.

The poetry of the song is brilliant as well. The line “there’s nothing more to life than love, is there?” never ceases to give me the chills. I think that it is a very simple truth that is often overlooked. I recommend looking up the lyrics to this piece and reading over them before appreciating the simple video – it is a lovely experience.

Leave a Reply

