in which I express how much I do not understand the youth of America and their social inconsistencies

one night on after a night off, it’s

so frustrating the way each of you check in check out

of my life, our relationship. “You can trust me”

“I’m here for you”, etcetera. You have my number. This

is supposed friendship and connection, supposedly

we are friends, yet when I turned

you down you walked away to find

someone who would say yes.

So when I am spent, broken, wrecked

and hurting so, so badly, I cannot know that you will be there. Many

are not interested, they say I am melodramatic and over-the-top.

“I just don’t know what to say”

as if there is a right answer to this question – Help me?

silence is a no. thanks for that, by the way.

Last night, I am called upon

to wipe up blood, clean cuts

wrap one up in bandages and make a cup of tea

because no one will respond. This

hyper-individualization of self expression makes

introspection a dirty word. Your selfishness

is cowardice, but of course

what you have to say is most important, most relevant, most true.

Ridiculous. Sickening.

The point is, a semi-African girl will handle this

attempt at suicide willingly because

all we have is love and that is enough. God,

find us here and help me survive

these individuals.

4 thoughts on “in which I express how much I do not understand the youth of America and their social inconsistencies

  1. I understand your frustration, God will carry each one willing to ask. I wouldn’t make it a gender or nationality case, cause is the same everywhere, where I live is horrible, people swell in their ego-trips. Keep on being there for those who hurt, that’s a gift! Thank you also for the follow, wanting to let you know that my post is a bilingual one. So if you get an Italian poem, please be patient, an English one will soon follow. I’m doing my best to keep things balanced šŸ™‚
    Anna

Leave a Reply

