on the way home

we slide, ghosting

over the iceandsnow, flying

jousting with the car coming towards us

in a second, shattered

poetic justice in my stomach, I blossom

red and purple, green-yellow

am I frozen forever? limp in the snow?

red spread from the head to freeze solid,

they’ll have to un-bury me, digging back the piles of white

scrape me off the tar, eyes staring.

But I’m open, the smoke is hissing and children are screaming

I’m okay, I’m okay,

I’ll call nine-one-one and get us the hell out of here

pull you out, are you okay? our lives just flashed before our eyes,

did you like what you saw?

your blood is rushing too fast, it will freeze in the snow.

Leave a Reply

