are we focused

anger gets the best of me every time

the very best, my smile is drowned

raging, bitter, the best is eaten up and can’t be given,

best can’t be done tonight, sorry –

on impulse, I leap up and scream in faces instead,

dammit, again??

so hot the snow dies before me, whirling

clouds of it blind the air, we’re all shadows in the white,

all sound is muffled and dark, can’t even

slow down for a lie, they frost everyone’s hair and coats

because we’re all fine. Dissolve me in these words, reality is lost in layers

Small talk is small because it is little memories of nothing,

so I’ll force a small smile and try not to cryout hurt-bitter in front of everyone,

hard memories slam into me againagainagainagain –

the thudding refrain I never asked for this

but I don’t know how to tell you to stop

the wave of regretting humans washing over us all

just don’t make eye contact…

8 thoughts on “are we focused

  1. “all sound is muffled and dark, can’t even

    slow down for a lie, they frost everyone’s hair and coats”

    Beautiful! Those two lines made me smile in a sad way that’s actually really good. I loved the piece!

      • That would be fantastic! If ever I am in your neck of the woods, we shall! Where is your neck of the woods, anyway? I’m in the Central Valley of California. Possibly not close to where you reside, haha.

      • We are joined by a passion unbridled and embarrassingly so, haha. Poets from everywhere are one in their honesty (at lease they should be). Cheers to that! If I’m ever lucky enough to visit the East Coast, a smoke will be in order (along with a celebration for the fact that I got out of California for a damn vacation)!

      • Mhmmm that’s right. Poetry is a powerful art. And Cali weather sounds amazing right about now. I could go for some beach rather than just pine trees and snow. but it’s nice here too I guess….

Leave a Reply

