a song for holly

if I could find the words to string together

to explain why you have kept me going this year

I would tell everyone

but you already know how

your quiet brilliance has carried

my burning craze through months

of turmoil. For one thing I am sorry though:

Hinduism brought us together,

and ice tried to kill us together.

(I have never been so desperate for someone else’s life)

Now I have another thing to be afraid of,

driving in dirty snow and

the scraping noise ice makes as tires slide through it

(reminds me of your bright blood)

but this time I am not alone

and I wish for your sake you did not have to suffer with me

simultaneously, I am so selfish and so thankful for you.

Leave a Reply

